Login
Register

Change Language:

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

A Django site.

Powered by Sphene Community Tools
Board » General » Template Inclusion / Overriding

Page: 1 2 Next

I am very new to Django (still reading the book) but I am trying to set up a site using SCT (very nice work). With some poking and prodding I have managed to get things up and stable using the communityDraft as a base.

I can not figure out how the templates are getting pulled in. I am not getting the Django application templates (for the admin pages or any other Django service I try to access). And it seems that the templates for SCT are spread out all over the place. For example I do not want the Blogs to show up on the board page. So I went poking around to find that template which I think I finally got at in:

communitytools/sphenecoll/sphene/sphboard/templates/sphene/sphboard/_displayCategories.html

Which is mighty deep. Yet when I add that template path to my sitetemplates as in:

myproject/sitetemplates/sphene/sphboard/_displayCategories.html

it does not override the display.

I have tried mucking with the TEMPLATE_DIRS variable in the settings_local.py file. But when I do that Django crashes and will not start until I remove the TEMPLATE_DIRS override in that file. (Which seems weird to me..??)

So instead I altered it a bit in the main settings.py file to this:

import django

DJANGO_ROOT= os.path.abspath(os.path.join(os.path.dirname(os.path.abspath(django.__file__)),'..'))

TEMPLATE_DIRS = (
    os.path.join(ROOT_PATH, 'sitetemplates'),
    os.path.join(DJANGO_ROOT,'contrib','admin','templates'),
    os.path.join(DJANGO_ROOT,'contrib','sitemaps','templates'),
    os.path.join(DJANGO_ROOT,'contrib','comments','templates'),
    os.path.join(DJANGO_ROOT,'contrib','databrowse','templates'),
    os.path.join(DJANGO_ROOT,'contrib','formtools','templates'),
)