Login
Register

Change Language:

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

A Django site.

Powered by Sphene Community Tools
Board » General » Feature Discussions » starting ambitious project using sct

good day sir,
I run a moderately active vbulletin based forum with over 3000 members and 70000 posts and am seriously considering moving it all over to sct and building something that is more customised to the needs of my community. The problem is that vbulletin is constantly changing, the code is growing and there is a whole bunch of stuff now in vbulletin that is useless to me. Bug and security updates are frequent too. I have been uing vb for nearly 3 years now so I have a real good understanding of what features are truly important for us so I have set up a sct site on my home server and have begun customizing it. Before I get too far into it I want to know if it is possible to convert the passwords in the vb db which are stored as md5 hashes into sha for sct...is it possible? If not I need to come up with an alternate strategy like sending everyone to the forgot your password page or something like that.

Anyways I anticipate that I will be working on this for a few months before it is production ready. It seems as though anything is possible so here is my wish list for features that I intend to add, or perhaps inspire others to create:

* private messaging...but ideally I would like to use some sort of instant messaging system that can act as both a chat and a pm storage box with instant notification of new pm's

* frontpage stats

* gallery

* saving of non-graphical attachments such as pdf, avi, doc etc...these could go in the wiki

* a gallery to post connector, so that when sopmeone is making a post and they want to use an image that is already uploaded to their gallery then there will be a list of pics with links perhaps in the message posting interface

* user gallery in the profile page

* wysiwym in textarea or something similar